GIS & BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE

Uptility

Software development and IT consulting

with a focus on geoinformatics and business intelligence

We, the founders of the company Uptility, help to build up intelligent information systems and to operate them efficiently. We connect geoinformatics with business intelligence to optimize spatial business processes. We develop IT-technical solutions to implement sustainability strategies, for instance for a clean energy in climate protection. We assume project responsibility.

At Uptility cooperation and teamwork are of paramount importance – respect towards the environment is a self-commitment. Moreover, working products and services are our main motivation drivers.

Uptility

Dr. Michael Heiß

Co-founder and Managing Director

 

For more than 20 years, the geoinformatics specialist and doctorate landscape ecologist is engaged in leading positions of the (GEO)-IT-industry

Career path
After working as a research assistant at the Geographic Institute of the Westphalian Wilhelm University, Münster, Dr. Heiß had been head of Esri Germany’s training center in Kranzberg for three years. 1995 he he founded the IT company LAND + SYSTEM GmbH in Bremen after several years of consulting at RAG Deutsche Steinkohle AG. After their business was taken over by IP SYSCON GmbH in 2008, Michael Heiß headed the Bremen branch and was responsible for central project management in the company. In 2015 he left IP SYSCON to become self-employed as an independent IT consultant.
As a project manager and business analyst Dr. Heiß realizes industry (geo-) IT projects with a focus of the sectors telecommunications and energy supply. Due to years of experience, he has another focus of the solution of geospatial issues in the public administration.

Dr. Michael Heiß is certificated in IPMA Level D®, CPRE, ITIL® and ScrumAlliance®.

Teamwork

Good work only works in a team, since nowadays communication and coordination inwards and outwards are the most important criterion for the project success. At Uptility consultants with years of experience and young computer scientists collaborate closely. That makes it possible to find reliable answers to questions regarding digital change – thus new ideas arise. Due to team thinking, intensive exchange and mutual support it is possible to reach a high level of agility and flexibility. That is for the benefit of our customers.

References

Public utilities
Test Utility Network

On behalf of Schleswig-Holstein Netz, Quickborn, Uptility supports the agile project “Test Utility Network” based on Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.7.
 

  • Setting up an Esri ArcGIS Enterprise V. 10.7. with ArcGIS Pro, Portal for ArcGIS, Data Store, Utility Network etc. in a VM environment/ in the Azure Cloud
  • Data migration from the current Bentley system to the utility network based on the European electricity model developed by the “Utility Network Community”.
  • Python based migration script for largely automated transfer of network data to the Esri Utility Network.
  • Test of the provided functionality for documentation and information of the network data for different use cases of the energy supplier.

As an EON subsidiary, Schleswig-Holstein Netz is an energy service provider with a focus on grid operation and decentralized energy generation and operates a grid information system for all divisions based on a geographical information system with an interface to SAP.

TeleCommuniCation
Radio Cell Optimization

On behalf of a globally operating mobile communications company, one of the founders was responsible for the management of a multi-year project for radio cell optimization.
As project manager responsible for project planning, coordination and management of a large project team consisting of members of the company’s line organization and external service and solution providers.

 

  • Business process analysis, requirement engineering and risk management of the optimization project.
  • Integration of new tools for radio cell optimization based on ETL software (FME from Safe Software), DBVS (Oracle) and GIS technology (Esri ArcGIS Desktop and Server)
  • Deployment of the new IT system components. Acceptance and QM in the HP Quality Center based on the tests performed.
  • Go Live/ monitoring and aftercare.

Public administration
Industrial waste heat

On behalf of the district of Osnabrück, one of the founders supported the “PinA” project. “PInA” stands for “Information and Planning Portal Industrial Waste Heat” and is a leading project of the district of Osnabrück within the framework of the nationwide model project “Master Plan 100% Climate Protection. The object of the project is to develop and set up a web-based PInA application in which data on industrial waste heat (potential waste heat suppliers) and building-related data on heat demand (potential waste heat recipients) are stored in a database management system.

A map application with functions for network planning is connected to this application in order to uncover spatial relationships between waste heat suppliers and waste heat receivers. The architecture is designed in such a way that further specialist topics such as electricity can be added, as the district of Osnabrück would like to gradually expand the PInA application into a comprehensive climate protection portal.

The external support included IT project management including project controlling. The consulting services were related to the entire project cycle starting with project initialization, the step-by-step review of the service provider’s delivery items up to the acceptance of the product. One focus of the consulting services was the technical evaluation of the GIS integration and network planning in addition to aspects of data protection.

Nature and environment
Climate online presentation

Since 2004, the two founders Frank Brüning and Michael Heiß have been supporting Naturefriends International and local Naturefriends organisations in various technical projects, which deal with the implementation of sustainability strategies and questions of transnational innovation transfer, for example in connection with the use of renewable energies and the eco-social effects of climate change.

For example, “Climate Online Presentation” has succeeded in intensifying the exchange between young people from all over the world on the topics of climate change and climate protection by using modern means of communication. An online platform was used to establish a direct language and image link between the actors involved. The creatively, critically and invovatively designed contributions were presented online at the events. The use of technology enabled direct interaction, which has repeatedly led to exciting and varied events.
Naturefriends International (NFI), founded in 1895 in Vienna, is the umbrella organisation of around 45 national member organisations and is itself a member of the Green 10. Naturefriends are a democratically organised movement, committed to ecological and socio-political issues. Among other tasks Naturefriends raise awareness for climate protection and organise campaigns for more climate justice.

Sharing expert knowledge.

Optimise processes.

Identify trends.

Your competent partner with experience.

GIS & BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE

NACHHALTIG, AGIL UND UNABHÄNGIG

Uptility

Softwareentwicklung und IT-Beratung

mit Schwerpunkt Geoinformatik und Business Intelligence

Wir – von der Uptility – helfen, intelligente Informationssyteme aufzubauen und effizient zu betreiben. Wir verknüpfen Geoinformatik mit Business Intelligence, um raumbezogene Geschäftsprozesse zu optimieren. Wir entwickeln IT-technische Lösungen zur Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien, z.B. für saubere Energie im Klimaschutz. Wir übernehmen Projektverantwortung. Bei Uptility steht die Zusammenarbeit mit Menschen im Vordergrund – Respekt gegenüber der Umwelt ist eine Selbstverpflichtung. Funktionierende Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind unsere treibende Kraft.

Uptility

Dr. Michael Heiß

Co-Founder und Geschäftsführer

 

Der Geoinformatiker und promovierte Landschaftsökologe ist seit über 20 Jahren in leitenden Positionen in der (Geo-) IT-Branche beschäftigt.

Werdegang

Nach seiner Tätigkeit als wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Geographischen Institut der Westfälischen-Wilhelms-Universität in Münster leitete Dr. Heiß drei Jahre lang das Trainingszentrum von Esri Deutschland in Kranzberg, bevor er, nach einer mehrjährigen Beratungstätigkeit bei der RAG Deutschen Steinkohle AG, 1995 die IT-Firma LAND+SYSTEM GmbH in Bremen gründete. Nachdem deren Geschäfte 2008 von der IP SYSCON GmbH übernommen wurden, leitete Michael Heiß die Bremer Niederlassung und war verantwortlich für das zentrale Projektmanagement im Unternehmen. 2015 verließ er die IP SYSCON, um sich als unabhängiger IT-Berater selbstständig zu machen.

Als Projektmanager und Business Analyst realisiert Michael Heiß (Geo-) IT Projekte in der Industrie mit Fokus auf den Branchen Telekommunikation und Energieversorgung. Aufgrund langjähriger Projekterfahrung liegt ein weiterer Schwerpunkt in der Lösung raumbezogener Fragestellungen in der öffentlichen Verwaltung.

Dr. Heiß ist zertifiziert nach IPMA Level D®, CPRE, ITIL® und ScrumAlliance®.

Teamarbeit

Gute Arbeit gelingt nur im Team, denn Kommunikation und Abstimmung nach innen und außen sind heute das wichtigste Kriterium für den Projekterfolg. Bei Uptility arbeiten Beraterinnen und Berater mit langjähriger Erfahrung und junge Informatikerinnen und Informatiker eng zusammen. So ist es möglich, zuverlässige Antworten auf die Fragen im digitalen Wandel zu finden, so entstehen ständig neue Ideen. Durch Teamdenken, intensiven Austausch und gegenseitige Unterstützung wird ein hohes Maß an Agilität und Flexibilität erreicht. Dies kommt unseren Kunden zugute.

Referenzen

Ver- und Entsorgung
Test Utility Network

Im Auftrag der Schleswig-Holstein Netz, Quickborn, unterstützt Uptility das agile Projekt „Test Utility Network“ auf Basis Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.7.

  • Aufsetzen einer Esri ArcGIS Enterprise V. 10.7. mit ArcGIS Pro, Portal for ArcGIS, Data Store, Utility Network etc. in einer VM Umgebung bzw. in der Azure Cloud.
  • Datenmigration aus dem derzeitigen Bentley System in das Utility Network auf Basis des von der „Utility Network Community“ entwickelten europäischen Strommodells.
  • Python-Migrationsscript zur weitgehend automatisierten Übernahme der Netzdaten in das Esri Utility Network.
  • Test der bereitgestellten Funktionalität zur Dokumentation und Beauskunftung der Netzdaten für verschiedene Use Cases des Energieversorgers.

Als EON Tochter ist die Schleswig-Holstein Netz ein Energiedienstleister mit den Schwerpunkten auf Netzbetrieb und dezentraler Energieerzeugung und betreibt ein Netzinformationssystem für alle Sparten auf Basis eines Geographischen Informationssystems mit Schnittstelle zum SAP.

Telekommunikation
Funkzellen-optimierung

Im Auftrag eines weltweit agierenden Mobilfunkunternehmens war einer der Gründer verantwortlich für das Management eines mehrjährigen Projektes zur Funkzellenoptimierung.

Als Projektleiter verantwortlich für die Projektplanung, Koordination und Leitung eines großen Projektteams aus Mitgliedern der Linienorganisation des Unternehmes und externen Dienstleistern und Lösungsanbietern.

  • Geschäftsprozessanalyse, Requirement Engineering sowie Risikomanagement des Optimierungsprojektes.
  • Integration neuer Tools für die Funkzellenoptimierung auf Basis von ETL Software (FME von Safe Software), DBVS (Oracle) und GIS Technologie (Esri ArcGIS Desktop und Server).
  • Deployment der neuen IT-Systemkomponenten. Abnahme und QM im HP Quality Center auf Basis der durchgeführten Tests.
  • Produktivsetzung, Überwachung „Go Live“ und Aftercare.

Öffentliche Verwaltung
Industrielle Abwärme

Im Auftrag des Landkreises Osnabrück hat einer der Gründer das Projekt „PinA“ unterstützt. „PInA“ steht für „Informations- und Planungsportal Industrielle Abwärme“ und ist ein Leitprojekt des Landkreises Osnabrück im Rahmen des bundesweiten Modell-Projektes „Masterplan 100% Klimaschutz. Gegenstand des Projektes ist die Entwicklung und Einrichtung einer web-basierten PInA Applikation, in die Daten zur industriellen Abwärme (potentielle Abwärmelieferanten) und gebäudebezogene Daten zum Wärmebedarf (potentielle Abwärmeempfänger) in einem Datenbankverwaltungssystem vorgehalten werden.

An diese Applikation ist eine Kartenanwendung mit Funktionen zur Netzplanung angebunden, um Raumbezüge zwischen Abwärmelieferanten und Abwärmeempfängern aufzudecken. Die Architektur ist so konzipiert, dass weitere Fachthemen wie zum Beispiel Strom hinzugefügt werden können, denn der Landkreis Osnabrück möchte die PInA Applikation schrittweise zu einem umfassenden Klimaschutzportal ausbauen.

Die externe Unterstützung umfasste die IT-Projektsteuerung incl. des Projekt-Controllings. Die Beratungsleistungen bezogen sich auf den gesamten Projektzyklus beginnend mit der Projektinitialisierung, der schrittweisen Überprüfung der Liefergegenstände des Dienstleisters bis hin zur Abnahme des Produktes. Ein Beratungsschwerpunkt war neben Aspekten des Datenschutzes die technische Evaluation der GIS-Integration und der Netzplanung.

Natur und Umwelt
Climate online Presentation

Seit 2004 unterstützen die beiden Gründer Frank Brüning und Michael Heiß die Naturefriends International und lokale Naturfreunde-Organisationen in verschiedenen technischen Projekten, die sich mit der Umsetzung von Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien und Fragen zum transnationalen Innovationstransfer beschäftigen, etwa im Zusammenhang mit dem Einsatz Erneuerbarer Energien und den öko-sozialen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels.

So ist es mit „Climate Online Presentation“ gelungen, durch den Einsatz moderner Kommunikationsmittel den Austausch zwischen jungen Menschen aus der ganzen Welt über die Themen Klimawandel und Klimaschutz zu intensivieren. Über eine Online-Plattform wurde eine direkte Sprach- und Bildverbindung zwischen den beteiligten Akteuren aufgebaut. Die kreativ, kritisch und innvovativ ausgestalteten Beiträge wurden auf den Veranstaltungen online präsentiert, der Technikeinsatz ermöglichte eine direkte Interaktion, was immer wieder zu spannenden und abwechslungsreichen Veranstaltungen geführt hat.
Naturefriends International (NFI), gegründet 1895 in Wien, ist der Dachverband von rund 45 nationalen Mitgliedsorganisationen und selbst Mitglied der Green 10. Naturefriends sind eine demokratisch organisierte Bewegung, die sich für ökologische und gesellschaftspolitische Belange einsetzt. Neben anderen Aufgaben sensibilisieren Naturfreunde für Klimaschutz und organisieren Kampagnen für mehr Klimagerechtigkeit.

Expertenwissen teilen.

Prozesse optimieren.

Trends erkennen.

Ihr kompetenter Partner mit Erfahrung.